Review of Saucerers and Gondoliers

Saucerers and GondoliersSaucerers and Gondoliers by Dominic Green

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Note: This review is my opinion, and it is skewed to my likes and preferences


I picked this up to read simply because I was between books for my tablet…I will say I enjoyed it. NOT due to it being good SciFi, because it isn’t. It enjoyed it because it was fun to read due to how bizarre it was. It has been many years since I read Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy; this book reminded me of that type of bizarre.

Most of the humor, sarcasm and satire will be lost of the youth of today. Green has no problem making fun of red necks, UFOs, communists, British, Americans, Slavery – you name it. All with the typical humor you would expect of the British.

None of the “science” makes sense, so if you are into logical SciFi don’t read this. None of the planets are realistic, but who cares. Green he even made a joke that no one understood how the alien engines worked in the book.

Characters: Ant and Chloe are two fourteen year olds from England – the adventure revolves around them.

Story: They are “kidnapped” and taken aboard a flying saucer where one misadventure after another befalls them.

The ending was a bit abrupt, and could have been done a bit better – but was still fun reading.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

